Project display

Mecanique des sons resonates with atmospheres and places from the north of France with Soundscapes (radio podcast Soundscapes so'north) and electro-ambient music.

This project is led by Jérôme Bailly, journalist for Radio Scarpe Sensée and sound hacker, always in search of the slightest sound. Slag heaps, marshes, gardens and animals are honored through several forms:

Beast-Piano
  • An electro-ambient album 12 tracks "Secret Garden album” which gives pride of place to all the atmospheres captured and then passed through the mill via digital machines. Album inspired by Boards of Canada and Olafùr Arnalds.
  • Musical naps for young and old, with a “Beast-Piano" made by the Mécano Sonore, where the keys are replaced by animals.

Creating, shaping, shaping, rounding and mixing sound material in all directions until no longer distinguishing man from beast, such is the project of Sound Mechanics.


Sound Mechanic Biography

From adolescence, Jérôme recorded the radio and his entourage on tape, then joined an associative radio to share his sound crafts.

While volunteer at the radio, he worked in precision mechanics, he's called himself as “Sound Mechanic”. At the same time, he began to compose radio creations, documentaries and soundscapes, programmed in festivals and radio stations in France and Belgium (radio festival Brest, Arte Radio, associative radio stations).

Jérôme was also the composer of the tracks of Les Horlogers du Bruit, duo with Aurélien Bloch who made instruments with waste. Both musical and environmental project.

Today journalist-productor, he continues to record what he hears around him to make Soundscapes, podcast featuring sounds from the north of France. These sound moments depict and create a canvas that everyone appropriates according to their sensitivity.

Leading solo Mécanique des sons since 2019, his sound recordings provide ideas and still serve as a basis for the composition of electro-ambient tracks. Listening to Boards of Canada and Olafùr Arnalds was a source of inspiration for the Secret Garden album.

PRESENTATION du projet

La Mécanique des Sons fait résonner des ambiances et lieux des Hauts de France avec des Paysages sonores (podcast radio Paysages so’nord) et des musiques electro-ambient.

Ce projet est mené par Jérôme Bailly, journaliste pour Radio Scarpe Sensée et bidouilleur sonore, toujours en quête du moindre son. Terrils, marais, jardins et animaux se trouvent honorés à travers plusieurs formes:

Piano-bêtes
  • Un album electro-ambient 12 pistes “Jardin Secret” qui fait la part belle à toutes les ambiances capturées puis passés à la moulinette via des machines digitales. Album inspiré par Boards of Canada et Olafùr Arnalds.
  • Des siestes musicales pour petits et grands, avec un “Piano-bêtes” fabriqué par le mécano sonore, où les touches sont remplacés par des animaux.

Créer, modeler, façonner, arrondir et mixer la matière sonore dans tous les sens jusqu’à ne plus distinguer l’homme de la bête, tel est le projet de la Mécanique des sons.


Bio du Mécano Sonore

Dès l’adolescence, Jérôme enregistrait la radio et son entourage sur cassette, puis a rejoint une radio associative pour partager ses bricolages sonores.

Tout en étant bénévole à la radio, il a travaillé dans la mécanique de précision, se définissant ainsi comme “Mécano Sonore”. En parallèle, il a commencé à composer des créations radiophoniques, des documentaires et des paysages sonores, programmés dans des festivals et des radios de France et de Belgique (Longueur d’ondes Brest, Arte Radio, radios associatives).

Jérôme a aussi été le compositeur des morceaux des Horlogers du Bruit, duo avec Aurélien Bloch qui fabriquait des instruments avec des déchets. Projet tant musical qu’environnemental.

Aujourd’hui journaliste-réalisateur, il continue à enregistrer ce qu’il entends autour de lui pour en faire des Paysages so’nord, podcast faisant entendre des sonorités des Hauts de France. Ces instants sonores dépeignent et créent une toile que chacun s’approprie selon sa sensibilité.

Menant en solo la Mécanique des sons depuis 2019, ses prises de sons procurent les idées et servent toujours de base pour la composition de morceaux electro-ambient. L’écoute de Boards of Canada et Olafùr Arnalds a été une source d’inspiration pour l’album Jardin Secret.